• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 427 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,984 hits

Welcome to Our Beautiful World!

7 Years ago I fell pregnant. I was working in the corporate world and thought that I would have my baby, stay at home for a few months and then go back to work.

I had my little boy on 16 November 2003 and instantly fell in love with him. He became my obsession and I marveled at every little thing he did. I was watching some home movies yesterday and I recorded him learning how to use his hand. He had just learnt how to hold on to a toy and I made sure that I got it on video. About 10 minutes of film confirmed that he could do it! 6 years later I still watch the full 10 minutes and want to applaude him when he manages to wrap his little fingers around the rattle!

We bought a house and I had to go back to work, there was no way around it! I tried my hand at party plan, I considered distributing pamphlets and was willing to try ANYTHING! Nothing worked for me. I felt like it was the end of the world, how could I find a job and still be with my precious son?

One afternoon I was sitting reading my Community News Paper and saw an advert for becoming a Family Day Care operator. “Do you love children?” HELL YES…. “Do you want to work from the comfort of your own home?” YES, YES…..”Do you want to work the hours you choose? Ummm YES, YES, YES!!!! I called up the Scheme and my life clicked into place.

Before I knew it I was being assessed, quizzed, taught and evaluated. I had to do a few minor adjustments to my house and in February 2005 I opened my doors and waited for the families to contact me.

Business was a bit slow to start with, but within 6 months I was full. My son loved having his new friends and I loved having my son!

Family Day Care is not for the faint hearted, but if you have a passion for children it really is the perfect business. Since opening my doors to the children of Australia, I’ve had 22 children in my care. I have loved spending so much time with these gorgeous children. It’s an absolute privilege to be with them when they are at their most curious, most passionate and most lively stage of their life. My first entry ends with a

BIG THANK YOU TO ALL THOSE PARENTS WHO HAVE ENTRUSTED ME WITH THEIR CHILDREN!

4 Responses

  1. I look forward to watching your blog. I too an an FCC. 🙂

    • Debbie, thank you so much for commenting! I was hoping that this would work!!! I’m so excited because you’re my first comment!!! I look forward to following your blog too!
      Jo

  2. Awsome Jo, i am so proud of u.

    Dix

Leave a Reply

