• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 428 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 19,115 hits

Where has the time gone?

I have such wonderful ideas and inspiration for my blog and yet I just can’t find the time to sit down and put my fingers on my keyboard! So just to show you that I’m still around and active, I thought that I would add a simple little post with some ramblings that might lead somewhere. The last few weeks have been really busy. We’ve been painting, drawing, playing, making things for Easter, cooking food and exploring the Fairy Garden whenever we get a chance.

Our previous Fairy Garden took a beating with the storm that hit Perth a few weeks ago and the fairy house that the kids had built had been demolished. With lots of thought and discussion we started repairing the fairy house so that the fairies could come back to visit us.

One of the children even thought that it would be a good idea to give the fairies a slide and bridge to play on.

Add to that, all the cooking, cleaning, eating, cleaning, toileting, cleaning and school runs and it’s no wonder that I’m sitting here a few weeks later hating the fact that I’ve been a bit silent on my blog!

Family Day Care is wonderful and it’s hard work! I often look at other child care centres and schools and think how perfect it would be if I had one extra pair of hands to help me out. That one person could make the world of difference. I have said it before and I will say it again, One Powerball and I will have a cook / cleaner to help me out with all my meals and my house and then the rest is left to me! ‘The rest’ being playing with the children of course. People laugh at me and don’t believe that I would still be doing Family Day Care and I can’t understand why they think that I would stop. I absolutely love what I do and hope that I will still be doing it for many years to come.

The best thing about my job is that when my kids are grown up and have kids of their own, I can go back to this line of work and continue working with children, maybe even be lucky enough to have my own grandkids in my care! Wow, I’m only 34 years old and I’m sitting here talking about grandchildren!!!!

It’s been wonderful now that the school holidays have started because I’ve been lucky enough to have my own two beautiful children at home with me. It has been much busier for me and there have been more activities on the go. My son is 6 years old and he loves arts, crafts and construction and he wants me to fit him into my programme too. The only difficulty is that the younger children love eating his art, crafts and construction toys! With a bit of juggling of sleep times we’ve managed to include some of his favourite things into our little world.

The great thing about my environment is that I can set up craft activities outside, there is ample shade and any mess can be washed away.  It is also a great place for the girls to experiment with make up and fairy glitter!


The weeks have flown, the fun we’ve had has been great. I hope that I’ve managed to share a bit of the magic that the children have created with you in this post. I think it’s time to chat to the Mom’s and Dad’s I work with to see if I can share some pictures of their beautiful children with you too!

It’s time to say farewell, I have a few e-mails from Teacher Tom that I want to go and read (if you get a chance you should read his entry about Fly Swatter Painting – I’m not brave enough to try it!!!)

Have a great week and hopefully you’ll hear from me sooner rather than later……

Leave a Reply

